We may collect IP address, device type, unique device identification numbers, browser-type, broad geographic location (e.g. country or city-level location), and other technical information. We may also collect information about how your device has interacted with our website, including the pages accessed and links clicked.
Does Perplexity store my search history and personal information?
Yes, Perplexity AI stores your personal information, such as your name, email address, and password if you create an account. The information collected automatically from your device and your interactions with the website is also stored for internal analytics purposes and to improve the quality and relevance of the website.
How long does Perplexity retain my search history, AI profile data and personal information?
Your personal information is retained for as long as your account is active. If you delete your account, your personal information will be deleted from our servers within 30 days. Please contact us at
firstname.lastname@example.org to request deletion.
Is my personal data shared with third parties?
Perplexity AI does not sell, trade, or otherwise share your personal information with third parties, except as described in our policy. We may share your personal information with service providers that perform certain services on our behalf, such as sending email communications, processing payments, or providing customer support.
Are my search queries and feedback reports considered in AI learning?
Yes, we use this data to improve the search experience for our users.
How can I opt out of my data being used for AI improvement?
AI data usage can be switched off in the account settings. Go to your profile and navigate to
AI Data Usage toggle under
Settings. Turn off the toggle to stop Perplexity from using your search data to improve our AI models.
You can delete your Perplexity Account by going to your
Settings, then going to your Account tab and clicking on
When I delete my account, is my data also erased?
After a 30 day period all of your data is erased from our servers, before that period it is still used to help us improve Perplexity.
Can I request my data to be deleted?
Yes, please email email@example.com for a data deletion.